New York, I Love You

Statue of Liberty National Monument, Ellis Isl...

Statue of Liberty National Monument, Ellis Island and Liberty Island, Manhattan, in New York County (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

New York, how do I love you
Let me tell you why
What is my life but a tiny blip
On this place called earth?

How can I return to my home now
After I saw the splendor of New York
I saw the sights of this beautiful city
And I can no longer count my own city as great

What is the simplicity of my town
When it is compared to New York
What of the excitement that roars through the city
That drowns the silence of my town?

Why do I have feelings of love for New York
And yet, I reject the town that I came from
How can this happen to me
Why do I crave the excitement of New York?

When will the excitement end
When will I want to return home
How can I turn my back
And return to the place where I came from

Until I can find the courage
to bring myself to leave
I shall forevermore
remain in New York

