Much-Needed Drama

Announcer: Live from the Dillard studios in New York, it’s the Sammy Sasan Show!

(the camera sweeps across the studio. The audience is in the bleachers. Sammy is seen walking onto the stage.)

Audience: Sammy! Sammy! Sammy! (cheers)

Sammy: Hello everyone and welcome to the Sammy Sasan Show. I’m going to be your guide as we navigate through the world of relationships. Today’s story is going to be a doozy; we have with us Karema Smittand, better known as 1/3 of the Movie Watching Trio. (audience cheers) Anyway, she’s not here to tell us about her scathing reviews of yet another movie geared towards our children; she’s here to expose some pretty dark secrets regarding her lost childhood. Her mother, Rose Marie Anderson, has long been maligned as the villianess in the story about how Karema went from child abuse victim to celebrated movie reviewer. I have Karema sitting here next to me; how are you doing?

Karema: Well, I’m doing just fine, or I would have been, had my life not been exposed on the internet. (she holds up a book titled Exposed: The Controversial Story of Movie Critic Karema Yas Smittand by Delta Mendoza) I don’t know why that woman continues to make money while she ruins the lives of scores of celebrities. Who does she think she is, anyway?

Sammy: Oh, the humanity! Now, tell me, what happened?

Karema: Oh, sure! Well, it started when my mother took me to Texas after my father’s death; I never got over that. Then, there was the matter of whether or not I was child abused. I’m not even about to go into any details about the rest of my childhood. For that, I blame my mother and I seriously wonder if she even cared about me at all. If she did, then none of *that* would have ever happened!

Sammy: Indeed. and to counter these accusations of being a bad mother, here’s Rosemary Anderson! (Rosemary shows up on stage as the audience boos) And how are you holding up despite the fact that none of the people in the audience like you?

Rosemary: Well, things could be better…if I’m walking down the street and people shout accusations at me.

Sammy: Such as?

Rosemary: Some people would call me a terrible mother while others are quick to accuse me of killing my husband…

Sammy: Well, did you kill Lincoln Smittand?

Rosemary: No! Why on earth would I do anything like that? I already told you, someone showed up at my house, killed Lincoln, and then took Karema and myself and went to Texas.

Sammy: I see. Now, let’s get an opinion from a member of the audience. Yes you, the girl wearing the trollface t-shirt. You, sitting in the back row. You.

Jacquel Rassenworth: Well, I’m not much for mother-daughter relationships, but I can detect a lie when I hear one. How do we know if you’re telling the truth?

Sammy: Well put. So, Karema, do you have anything to say to your mother?

Karema: Well, this is going to be hard.

Sammy: Take your time.

Karema: Well, first off, Rose, I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to say this, but it’s the truth. I don’t know what possessed you to join that crazy group and take me to Texas, but this is not the way of things. your actions have compromised my future. Had I not met Jacquel Spartan and Derrick Virgil when I did, I would have been on welfare, living in low income housing, dating some disgusting self-absorbed freak. Sydney would be sent to some terrible school, causing trouble for everyone, and generally being a thorn in my side. I hope you’re proud of yourself, because you have just lost the only child that you should have loved. (storms off the stage. Rosemary watches in shock as the audience watches, stunned.)

Sammy: Oh, I didn’t expect to see that happen; in fact, I anticipated much more drama and even a catfight between those two. This just isn’t the business here. Anyway, here’s what we can take away from this episode: being in a family is not easy. If it were, then we wouldn’t be having any unnecessary drama. But as such is life; sometimes, we don’t get the loving parents that we deserve. Some of us are born to mothers and fathers who neglect or abuse us. Many of us who are fortunate to have loving parents make the unwise choice to not be in contact with them or even visit them. Isn’t this sad? Therefore, I urge you to put aside any all all thoughts of hatred and apathy towards your parents and learn to love them. Orphans don’t have parents to love; why are we putting our love and adulation towards them? Let’s put our love for those who still have parents. Let’s be good to each other. (he and Rosemary walk off the stage. the audience cheers. credits roll)

