A Day in the Life of a boarding school student

English: Nigerian boarding school students.
English: Nigerian boarding school students. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You think that life at a boarding school is just like in Harry Potter? Well, don’t fool yourselves, because it’s not. In fact, life at my boarding school is several times harder than what Hogwarts really is.

Here, let’s go over my day:

Dorm: I wake up at 6:00 a.m. My dorm mates is still asleep; no one really gets up until 7:00 a.m. I just want to get myself mentally ready for the day.

Breakfast: takes place at 7:30 a.m. in the house kitchen. Breakfast usually consists of eggs, sausage, bacon, and pancakes. I wish I could just eat a bowl of cereal, but the headmaster has forbidden cereal to be consumed in the school. So I will wait until I can go home.

Morning classes: first class is algebra, second class is science, and the third class is English. Classes begin at 8:00 a.m. and they usually lasted for an hour and a half. I’m no genius like miss smartypants Hermione Granger; I’m just Janette Lennox. I’m not really good at anything, and I try not to raise my hand and answer every question that the teacher asks. (Also, if I’m lucky enough to do so, I usually get the answer WRONG)

Lunch: takes place at 12:00 p.m. in the cafeteria. The food is prepared by kitchen workers; none of the meals particularly appeal to me. This is what happens when you’re an American citizen attending a British boarding school. Also, the food doesn’t magically appear on the table, nor are there floating candles. Where’s the magic?

Afternoon classes: first class is art, second class is history, and the third class is French. The first class usually started around 1:00 p.m. and they last for an hour and 45 minutes. School usually ends around 5:00 p.m. (at this point, I’m filled with relief at the 5:00 bell; I can’t sit through six classes at my old school, and I certainly grew impatient at this prospect of having to sit through several boring lessons at my old school)

Dinner: served at 5:30 p.m. in the cafeteria. I wonder how the other students manage to serve dinner without their families, and I wonder why I gave up so much time spent with my own family to come here. The food doesn’t hold well with me, but I have to get used to it.

Homework: is usually done at the dorm building after dinner. The one thing is that you have to complete your homework, and you have only two hours to do so. I feel upset, because I usually zip through my homework and then get on the computer or watch TV. But here, I have to wait until all my dorm mates finish their homework, and some of them are the slowest workers that I have ever seen. I hate having to slow down and actually take my time with the homework. Why do I feel like I’m wasting my time with this homework?

Activities: since there’s no internet or television in the dorms, I feel bored with myself. There is a library and a computer lab, but no one really goes there. Most of the kids in my school hang out at the student center. I wonder if I could slip off to the library tomorrow.

Lights Out: well, after an entire day of trying to navigate this place called boarding school, I’m more than relieved when the 10:00 p.m. bell rings. That’s when it’s lights out and the students must make their way to their dorms and go to bed. I had spent the day trying to use what little 4G system I have to access the internet on my laptop before I put the computer away and get ready for bed. By the time it’s 10:15 p.m., I’m the last person in my dorm to go to bed, but it’s not my fault. I feel wide awake, due to the fact that I’m still on Ohio time. I’ll get the hang of this soon.

Well, that’s what it’s like to attend boarding school. If you thought that the boarding school was like Hogwarts, well, you are wrong. Boarding school is much harder than regular public school, due to the fact that I don’t get to see my family very much and I don’t relate very well to my classmates. Only time will tell if I will be able to take to this unexpected new life.

