It’s a Nice Day for a Silver Wedding

“Tell me why they’re calling it a silver wedding,” Jeremy Penrose said to Grogan Wilkson as they sat at their usual spot at the cafe. The sun was shining, but the sky still looked gray.

“To be honest, I don’t know,” said Grogan. “It’s not like Sophia is 50 years old.”

“Even then, I wonder why she chose to get married today, out of all days,” said Jeremy.

Grogan shook his head; ever since the big fight between Jeremy and their mutual friend Sophia Donaldson, she had stopped speaking to them. There was the same, worn-out excuse of “if we can’t marry each other, then you shouldn’t be able to marry Clint”. Grogan shook his head again; he knew that Jeremy could sometimes say things without thinking, and this was one of those times.

“Jeremy, you’re never going to get people to respect you if you keep trying to force them to accept your opinions about marriage without seeing theirs.”

“I know,” said Jeremy. “But all the same, I just wish that Sophia wouldn’t have met Clint Stallman in the…”

Just then, two men and three women approached their table. Jeremy and Grogan had been harassed by these people for the last few weeks; both of them were sure that their lifestyle was the cause of the intimidation.

“They’re back, aren’t they?” Grogan said.

“Why do I feel like we’re back in high school?” Jeremy cried out.

“I thought we graduated high school three years ago,” Grogan agreed with him.

Instead of leaving this situation to chance, the two men chanced it and escaped from the cafe. Jeremy frowned, wondering why he had to still be chased around by people who had no heart. I’m getting too old for this, he thought to himself.

And because neither man had read the newspaper because they didn’t want to know when the wedding would happen, they didn’t know that they were heading right into the church where the wedding was taking place. No one noticed them; the audience was instead gazing at the wedded couple. Jeremy and Grogan nodded; Sophia would be very angry if she found out that they had crashed her wedding.

Very soon, the wedding spilled out from the church and into the courtyard. The two men ducked into the bushes, trying not to bring any attention to themselves. But it was all in vain, as the bride in question noticed her unwanted guests hiding in the bushes like the cowards that she knew that they were.

“I can’t believe that you two have the nerve to show up after I told you that I didn’t want to see you anymore,” Sophia hissed as she pulled them from the bushes. “What are you doing here? And don’t tell me that that gang is harassing you; I don’t want to hear about it!”

Jeremy had to be careful; if he brought up the fight, it could escalate quickly. He then said, “Maybe Grogan and I wanted to surprise you at your wedding?”

“Well, if that’s true, then I’m very surprised that you decided to show up at all,” said Sophia. “But why are you really here?”

Grogan sighed and said, “Jeremy and I have felt guilty for not supporting you, and we were selfish and rude on the night that you told us that you were getting married.”

“And instead of being happy for you, I complained about not being able to marry Grogan,” said Jeremy. “I put myself before my friends, and I never should have done that in the first place.”

Sophia was about to respond when the same gang showed up at the church, looking for Jeremy and Grogan. Grogan noticed them and said, “We gotta run! See you soon!” Before anyone could intervene, Jeremy and Grogan ran out of the courtyard.

Clint came to Sophia and said, “I have a strange feeling that this gang is going to make life hard for us. We should help your friends.”

“If only there was a way how,” Sophia said in turn.

~to be continued…

