I’m Waking Up From this Dream (2014 FAWM Song)

Waking Dream
Waking Dream (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m waking up from what once was a good dream
But now today, it’s my biggest nightmare
What was once true is now a lie
How did it all come to this

When I grew up, I wanted nothing more to be pretty and popular
Never expected to be anything less
But something funny happened on the road of growing up
And now I’m stuck here feeling less than what I wanted to be

If growing up is a waste of time, then why do we all do it
If dreams don’t always come true, then why do we dream at all
What’s the point of growing up and looking to the future
If the future is filled with lies

I wondered if I had done anything wrong in childhood
So far, everything seemed great
But now comes a time when I’m forced to question my entire life
Who am I, to think that I could fit in

I look in the mirror and the person staring back at me
Is not the person who I had wanted to be
She’s not pretty, she’s quite plain, not the girl that everyone likes
I understand that she’s me, but I don’t like it at all

If growing up is a waste of time, then why do we all do it
If dreams don’t always come true, then why do we dream at all
What’s the point of growing up and looking to the future
If the future is filled with lies

I’m waking up from this dream, only to realize that the dream is a lie
Reality has set in and it hurts
I’ve held on tight to a lie when I should have faced the truth
The truth hurts and all I can say is

If growing up is a waste of time, then why do we all do it
If dreams don’t always come true, then why do we dream at all
What’s the point of growing up and looking to the future
If the future is filled with lies

I’m waking up from this dream, realizing that I’m not who I wanted to be
I have to let go of of this silly fantasy
Now that I’m here facing who I really am
I’m not blind anymore…

Growing up is something that we must do
Sometimes, we must let our dreams die
For there’s something better right down the road
If we learn to reach out and take that chance

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “I’m Waking Up From this Dream (2014 FAWM Song)

Comments are closed.