Change it Back (FAWM 2014 song)

Does anyone remember this cat?

Does anyone remember this cat? (Photo credit: claireviolet82)

what happened to us? how did we come to this? / once we were carefree / but now, even that’s gone wrong / somewhere between childhood and today / my dreams flew out the door and reality barged in / adulthood is now my worse nightmare / I wish I could go back…

I still remember how things used to be / yes I remember all of the dreams I once had / I wish I could go and take it back / I want to change it back / I want to go back to the way things used to be / I remember wanting nothing more to grow up

we used to think that growing up was fun, but we were so wrong / now that we’re older nothing’s been the same / you and I haven’t seen each other in a long time, I won’t even recognize you if I saw you right now / we have grown up way too much, and growing up means forgetting, but

I still remember how things used to be / yes I remember all of the dreams I once had / I wish I could go and take it back / I want to change it back / I want to go back to the way things used to be / I remember wanting nothing more to grow up

so what went wrong here, why do I remember / something just isn’t right / why can’t I just let go of the past, why can’t I say goodbye to yesterday / it’s now time for me to put away my memories and grow up / nostalgia is dangerous because it eats away at your life, I need to find a way to let the past go…

I know that I can’t change the past, I’m going to put it behind me / I’m not going to think back on it because the past is too depressing / I’m not going to let the past control me, I have a life to live, / it’s all for the best, and yet

I still remember how things used to be / yes I remember all of the dreams I once had / but I know I can’t take it back / I can’t change it back / I no longer want to go back to the way things used to be / I remember wanting nothing more to grow up / but now that I’m finally here, what do I do with myself now / what do I do with myself now / what do I do with myself now / what do I do with myself now / what do I do with myself now…

Enhanced by Zemanta
