My Greatest Mistake (StoryADay post)

When I was a kid, my father used to tell me never to assume anything. “When you ‘assume’ something, you make an ‘ass’ out of ‘you’ and ‘me’,” he’d say.

I really wish that I had listened to him when I had the chance.

It all began when Nora told me that my boyfriend, Tristan, was cheating on me with another guy. Immediately, my mind jumped to the conclusion that he was gay and he no longer wanted to go out with me. I was completely and totally crushed at the prospect of never seeing Tristan anymore, as I had known him since the seventh grade.

But no more. I was going to make sure that he regretted even meeting that guy.

But I remembered what my father said about making assumptions and I forced myself to sit down and consider my options:

  1. Tristan was actually cheating on me with that guy.
  2. Tristan wasn’t cheating on me, but he was in the company of that guy.
  3. I would go out on a limb and say that Nora is jealous of me and Tristan’s relationship and she decided to stir up trouble by are spreading that rumor about Tristan cheating on me.

Just then, I knew what I was going to do. The question is, that would I make an ass out of me and Tristan?

Posted from WordPress for Android

Enhanced by Zemanta
