Two Hundred And Fifteen Hours (StoryADay post)

English: A boy with autism.
English: A boy with autism. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It just occurred to me that I have exactly 215 hours before I’m forced to leave everything that I know behind and go to a place where nobody knows me.

Just me. No one else is going with me.

I don’t know why my parents are so keen on sending me away to some relatives that I don’t know exist and to live in a town that I can’t find on a map. How did that ever happen?

I tell you now, this story won’t erase the fact that I have exactly nine days before I leave my hometown for good.

After some lame report by a teacher claiming that “Adrienne plays alone; she has no friends“, my mother was so upset with me that she just refused to look in my direction. My father didn’t say much to me, but I could tell that he was ashamed of me. To him, having a child who “plays alone and has no friends” is nothing short of a disgrace. Someone like me, who refuses to play with others and prefers her own company, is undeserving of a family such as the Porters.

That’s why I’m leaving.

Anyway, all I could do is count down the hours that I have left. 215.

Well, it was nice being at home.

Enhanced by Zemanta
