Space Challenger (a parody of Space Oddity by David Bowie) (FAWM song)

Ronald McNair, NASA Astronaut, died in Challen...

Ronald McNair, NASA Astronaut, died in Challenger mission. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(music begins)

Ground control to Ron McNair
Ground control to Ron McNair
Get your space helmet, they’re all waiting for you

Ground control to Ron McNair
It’s time to get on board the ship
All systems go, and may God go with you

(spaceship lifts off)

This is ground control to Ron McNair, you’re sitting on top of the world
And the papers want to know what it’s like up there
Could you please describe it to us if you can

This is Ron McNair to ground control, I’m looking out the window
And I’m floating in a very peculiar way
And the sky seems very different today

Yes, I am sitting in a tin can high above the world
Planet Earth is blue and there’s nothing much that I can do…

(musical interlude)

I’m now one hundred thousand miles in the air, yet I’m feeling very calm, because I know the spaceship knows which way to go. Tell my wife I love her very much…

She knows

Ground control to Ron McNair, you’ve been cut off, something’s gone wrong, can you hear me Ron McNair, can you hear me Ron McNair, can you hear me Ron McNair, can you

Here I’m still sitting in a tin can high above the world
Planet Earth is blue and there’s nothing much that I can do

(musical interlude)

(video of Challenger crash is seen in the background as the video fades)

