Reality killed the Video Star (parody of “Video Killed the Radio Star” by the Buggles)

I first saw you on MTV back in Eighty Two
I was lying awake intent at tuning it into you.
If I was young it didn’t stop you from coming through.
Oh-a oh
Oh-a oh

They took the credit for your second show.
replaced it with something new called reality,
and now I understand the problems you have with them.

Oh-a oh
I met your children
Oh-a oh
What did you tell them?

Reality killed the video star.
Reality killed the video star.
Stupid tricks came and broke your heart.
Oh-a-a-a oh

And now we meet on another channel
We see the playback and it seems so long ago.
And you remember how the tunes used to go.

Oh-a oh
You were the first one.
Oh-a oh
And now you are the last one.

Reality killed the video star.
Reality killed the video star.
In my mind and on my TV, we can’t rewind for we’ve gone way too far.

Oh-a-aho oh,
Oh-a-aho oh

Reality killed the video star.
Reality killed the video star.
In my mind and on my TV, we can’t rewind for we’ve gone way too far.
Stupid videos came and broke your heart, put the blame on Internet.

You are a video star.
You are a video star.

Reality killed the video star.
Reality killed the video star.
Reality killed the video star.
Reality killed the video star.
Reality killed the video star. (You are a video star.)

Waiting for the School to Change (cover of Waiting on the World to Change)

Cover of the limited edition EP
Cover of the limited edition EP (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(parody of John Mayer’sWaiting on the World to Change“, as seen in “Harry Moffer and the Really Stupid Sequel”)

Just look at us, we’re so misunderstood
they say that we’re selfish, that we don’t care about anyone else
We’re sick of the school we’re attending, we want to shoot those who run it
they think that we will never rise up and stop them…

Let’s quit waiting (waiting) quit waiting for the school to change
let’s quit waiting (waiting) quit waiting for the school to change
you can’t make a difference when you’re sitting on the sidelines
let’s quit waiting (waiting) quit waiting for the school to change…

What if we had the power to end bullying for good
there would be no more school shootings, no more suicides
and when you compromise your values, you’ll get nothing but pain
cause when you support the wrong team, they have the right to steal your soul…

Let’s quit waiting (waiting) quit waiting for the school to change
let’s quit waiting (waiting) quit waiting for the school to change
it’s not that we don’t care about you, we’re tired of you making our lives unfair
let’s quit waiting (waiting) quit waiting for the school to change…

(musical interlude)

No more waiting (waiting) we’re going to force the school to change
no more waiting (waiting) we’re going to force the school to change
today this generation is taking over the world population
no more waiting (waiting) we’re going to force the school to change
no more waiting (waiting) we’re going to force the school to change
no more waiting (waiting) we’re going to force the school to change
we’re going to force the school to change
we’re going to force the school to change
we’re going to force the school to change!

Wake Me Up When This Story Ends (parody of Wake Me Up When September Ends)

Wake Me Up When September Ends
Wake Me Up When September Ends (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

(as sung in my still unpublished musical “Harry Moffer and the Really Stupid Sequel”)

Summer came to an end
Our innocence is no more
wake me up when this story ends

like my first day of school
sixteen weeks has gone so fast
wake me up when this story ends

it’s that time again
we have to grow up
what are we to become
we are more than what we are

as my new life begins
I won’t forget what I lost
wake me up when this story ends

Summer came to an end
Our innocence is no more
wake me up when this story ends

ring out the bells again
like we did when school began
wake me up when this story ends

it’s that time again
we have to grow up
what are we to become
we are more than what we are

as my new life begins
I won’t forget what I lost
wake me up when this story ends

Summer came to an end
Our innocence is no more
wake me up when this story ends

like my first day of school
sixteen weeks has gone so fast
wake me up when this story ends
wake me up when this story ends
wake me up when this story ends…

Can You Stop The Doubt? (FAWM Song)

based on the poem “Don’t Stop the Rejections

I’m tired of feeling the pain of rejection, I’m tired of being who I’m not supposed to be
All I wanted to be is like everyone else, and yet whenever I try, I get nothing but grief

But then you came along and shook up my world, you said you never met a girl like me
I hear them warning you that I’m no good, that you should find another girl and leave me alone

Yet you shake off their lies
I know that you want me
I know I want you as well
but this doubt is in the way

So tell me

Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt

You want me for me, yet I want you for normal
we are much too different and that will never change
but I am willing to give this a try, as I’m not willing to tell that hope goodbye
It’s you and me against the world, they want you with someone else and me to be alone
We’ll fight the naysayers to the very end, because when it comes to love, it’s worth fighting for

They don’t want us together
they want to tear us apart
Well, it’s all right, that’s OK
Bring it on

We’ll fight them

Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt

I’m now cutting my ties to this normal world
I’m going to start living for me and you
They will never accept me for who I really am
And I will never please them, no matter what I do

Let’s end this!

Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt

Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt
Can you stop the doubt…

FAWM Song: Scandalous (Parody of “Fabulous” by Ashley Tisdale)

Gemma: It’s now summertime, that means lazy days ahead
Goodbye rainy days, hello sunshine
A day at the park, a trip to the mall
Endless days on Tumblr
This life according to me

(Corrine: Uh Gemma, you really need to see this.
Gemma: Oh yeah. Thanks)

Gemma: There’s juicy gossip everywhere
From the library to the swimming pool
Everywhere somebody’s making a fool of themselves
And it’s my main job to bring you the scoop

(Gemma: Welcome to Harrison Creek News; I’m Gemma Challoner bringing you the news from our great city)

I want scandalous, that is my simple request
All things scandalous, bigger and better and best
I need something shocking to help me get along
I need a little scandalous, is that so wrong?

I want to know what’s going on in Hollywood
Your favorite celebrities’ problems are what I truly enjoy
Did you hear about the couple that broke up, and what’s this about that pop singer’s offbeat diet?
Come now, give me the scoop
I’m bored and I want to chat

I want scandalous, that is my simple request
All things scandalous, what can be better than this
I need something shocking to help me get through the day
I need a little scandalous, do you got some gossip to spread

But more importantly are the issues that hit close to home
Such as four certain teens and the girl that no one likes
They’re stirring up trouble wherever they place their feet
And anything they do something big, I’m all on top of it…

You know what I want

Teenagers: She wants scandalous, that is her simple request
All things scandalous, bigger and better and best
She needs something shocking to help her get along
She needs a little scandalous, is that so wrong?

Gemma: Mara, Stuart, Irene and Pearl, they really need to hang out with a different girl.
I just received word about one who just came from California
She’s a scandalous girl from a scandalous family
She’s bound to have scandalous everything

We have so much to discuss
She’s the biggest thing in town

Teenagers: She wants scandalous, that is her simple request
All things scandalous, what can be better than this
She needs something shocking to help her get through the day
She needs a little scandalous, do you got some gossip to spread

Gemma: This story won’t do, that story is a bore
That story is flat-out lame, I need more
I need, I need, I need, I need, I need, I need
I need scandalous

Give me a scandalous story, a scandalous bit
Scandalous lies and that scandalous snark
Oh, I like what I see, I like it a lot
This is absolutely scandalous…
Absolutely
Shocking!

FAWM Song: Happy New Year

(Auld Lang Syne plays)

The end of the old year has come, it’s time to celebrate the fact that we somehow made it through
it’s time to look back upon some of the things we did, and what will happen to us in the future

Auld Lang Syne is playing on the radio as the world is getting ready to greet another year
no more time to think about yesterday, it’s time for us to think about tomorrow
the countdown is just about to begin, and what happens next will blow your mind

It’s gonna be a happy new year, a time that we can start over
a new year is coming, and it’s time for us to celebrate
so throw away last year’s blues, the past has no place in this new year
let’s rejoice because it’s here, because it’s a happy new year!

Take a look around at the crowd, see how they all are together, laughing and dancing in the streets, knowing that a brand-new day is coming
the countdown has now begun, it’s time to say goodbye to yesterday…

It’s gonna be a happy new year, a time that we can start over
a new year is coming, and it’s time for us to celebrate
so throw away last year’s blues, the past has no place in this new year
let’s rejoice because it’s here, because it’s a happy new year!

a new year is coming, so why are you still thinking the past year
that year is over, and it’s never coming back
it’s time to let yesterday go, it’s time to embrace the new year
it’s never too late to start over, a new year has begun…

It’s gonna be a happy new year, a time that we can start over
a new year is coming, and it’s time for us to celebrate
so throw away last year’s blues, the past has no place in this new year
let’s rejoice because it’s here, because it’s a happy new year!

It’s gonna be a happy new year, a time that we can start over
a new year is coming, and it’s time for us to celebrate
so throw away last year’s blues, the past has no place in this new year
let’s rejoice because it’s here, because it’s a…

5, 4, 3, 2, 1, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!