Ask Lucy Miller (StoryADay Post)

Cover of Old Friends and New Fancies, by Sybil...

Cover of Old Friends and New Fancies, by Sybil Brinton, considered to be the first work of Austen fan-fiction. (1913) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Dear Lucy,

I am a 16-year-old girl who loves to write fan fiction. But my parents want me to stop writing fan fiction, saying that it is a childish obsession and I need to grow out of it. But I really want to write fan fiction, and I have been writing fan fiction since I was seven years old. Yet, I know I need to stop playing with my toys and grow up, which means that I need to stop writing fan fiction. What can I do?

Fan-fiction Writer

Dear fan fiction writer,

I hate to break it you, but your parents are right. Take a good look at yourself and realize that there’s more to your life than fan fiction. You say that you are 16 years old, so you really need to focus on other things that are more age-appropriate, such as friends, movies, and books. Your parents are correct; you need to put away your toys and grow up.


Dear Lucy,

I am a 12-year-old boy who is at the end of my rope here. I have found some poorly written fan fiction about myself and my friends, and how we were friends with some girl that no one liked. What should I so to prove that I’m not a fraud?

Not a “Teen Rebel”

Dear Not a “Teen Rebel“,

What I would suggest that you do is to hire a good lawyer and sue whoever is publishing those terrible stories about you. Those stories are libelous and hurtful. Plus, you should contact your local newspaper and bring this story to the city’s attention. Libel is NOT OK; it has destroyed many people and ruined reputations. As my grandmother once said, “A reputation takes a lifetime to build, but a second to destroy.”


Dear Lucy,

I am a boy whose friends are pressuring me to read the Harry Potter books. I hate Harry Potter and I know that my mother doesn’t approve of the books about him. How do I tell my friends that I’m not interested in Harry Potter?

Refusing to read Harry Potter

Dear Refusing to read Harry Potter,

What you are dealing with here is a form of peer pressure, in which your friends are trying to force you to do something that you don’t want to do. Either you can explain to your friends the reasons why you don’t want to read Harry Potter; or you can break things off with them and go find some new friends.

