Telephone

"Kellogg" brand "candle stick&q...
“Kellogg” brand “candle stick” style telephone from c. early 20th century. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The phone rang, and I was afraid to answer it. Why are people calling me in the middle of the night? I have to go to sleep. I have school in the morning.

And yet, people seem to forget that I have a life outside of helping people with their problems.

I mean, what’s the big deal with high school gossip? Doesn’t anyone have anything else better to do than to talk about Mara Llewellyn, Stuart Greer, and Irene Haughton and their friendship with Tanya Shinnok, the bullied girl that no one liked?

Until the day that the city of Harrison Creek, Oregon discovered that Tanya was nothing but an imaginary person. The same way that a little kid has an imaginary friend.

Never in all my life had I seen so much shock and outrage as the city I knew collapsed and people began talking. And the phone rang.

