Hate Letters to Harry Potter (StoryADay Post)

The Platform 9¾ sign occasionally causes conge...

The Platform 9¾ sign occasionally causes congestion as tourists and Harry Potter fans stop to photograph it or try to push the rest of the luggage trolley through the wall. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“What are you writing?” Pearl said as she saw Stuart typing something on his laptop.

“Oh, nothing, just a hate letter to Harry Potter,” said Stuart. “Why do you need to know?”

“Because it sounds like you’re a Harry Potter fan,” said Pearl.

“No, I’m not!” said Stuart. “I hate Harry Potter! He ruined my life!”

“Really?” said Pearl. “How?”

“First, someone gave me the Harry Potter books thinking that if I read the books, I would be happy,” said Stuart.

“But you’re not happy,” said Pearl.

“And no, I’m not happy,” said Stuart. “Harry Potter is so unrealistic. I mean, someone who suffers abuse from his relatives turns out to be a famous wizard doesn’t fly in my book. Also, how can he be a great hero when he can’t do anything right and he’s not powerful? Nobody becomes a hero through luck and chance; they become heroes through good management and hard work.”

“I see,” said Pearl. “And what do you think you’re going to do about that?”

“I’m going to post this hate letter on my blog and see if people will read it,” said Stuart.

“Well, be careful,” said Pearl, “as those Harry Potter fans will come out of the woods and defend him. Then they’ll spam your blog until you start liking him.”

“Really?” said Stuart. “You mean, Harry Potter fans will spam my blog? I’d like to see them try.”

