She Drives Me Crazy

“I can’t believe you mom is forcing us to sit in this stupid car with your insane sister learning how to drive,” said Naomi Watkins to Megan Caldwell as the family car was driven around the neighborhood by Megan’s sister, Kendra. “It’s like all she ever does is daydream while your mom drives her around.”

“I don’t like it either, but mom and dad are insisting that Kendra learn to take care of herself,” said Megan. “If she has to drive the car, so be it.”

“Well, your sister is 22 years old and she still lives at home,” said Naomi. “Of course, my brother made sure to leave the house after he turned 18. I don’t know what’s up with your sister for her to be like that.”

“Well, I wonder that too,” said Megan as the car made another turn. “But it’s not my place to ask questions. There are some things about Kendra I don’t want to know.”

“Yeah,” said Naomi as the car kept driving.

Prompt #13: A story that takes place entirely inside a vehicle.

