I’ve Never Been to France

OK, so almost everyone in my new school has been to France. But as an ex-pat (a term referred to Americans who move out of America and live in another country) living in England, I realized I’m going to get a lot of flack for not going to France. I mean, what’s so great about France, anyway? Sure they helped America during the American Revolution and they have the city of Paris and the Louvre and Notre Dame (no hunchbacks need apply), and fine cheeses and wines. But why is going to France seem to be mandatory for all the students in my school?

I’ve been to Canada, which I believed was good enough for going out the country. But when I said that to the teacher, she laughed. She apparently thinks you haven’t traveled anywhere until you’re in a place where you can’t get to by car within an hour. Which means my family driving from Seattle to Canada doesn’t count, but we’ll get to that later.

So have I been to France? Nope. But will I have to go there in the future? Yes. And I’m not sure how I’m going to handle that right now.

prompt #17. A story set in a country you’ve never been to.

