Always Listen to Your Grandparents

It’s only in the night that the fairies come out.

All my life, my grandparents had warned me to never go outside at night, as the fairies who lurk around would find me and carry me off to fairyland, where I would never be able to leave. At first I laughed, knowing that my grandparents could tell a joke better than my parents. But they told me that they were warned by their grandparents to never go outside because the fairies would snatch them too, and their grandparents had warned them as well.

Now I’m getting suspicious, seeing as I have never seen an actual fairy, or proof that fairies had kidnapped children. But then I remember hearing about how my older sister was kidnapped by fairies when she was 12 years old. I laughed, knowing I never had an older sister.

But I was wrong, as I saw her footprints at the edge of the garden, where she was last seen. I laughed as I stared at the footprints, thinking to myself no fairy was ever going to catch me. I’m 13 years old, and what 13-year-old girl actually believes in fairies, anyway?

Well, I should have listened to my grandparents, as I felt the cold clammy hands of a fairy wrapping itself around my shoulders. I gasped in horror, for I knew what would happen next…

Prompt #24. A story that ends on a cliffhanger.

