The Rising of the Sun

It was night when I decided to run away from home.

I know I did not reach that decision lightly, as I had planed to leave home for weeks. My sister came out as gay, which I felt was felt was a betrayal. At the same time, my younger sister decided that because I was normal and she was not, I was unworthy of her time. My parents were torn between both sisters and my older brother’s recent marriage. I wondered that I was a mistake, as I was born normal and was yet unmarried.

So I ran away.

As I plowed through the mean streets, I began to think about the hordes of kids who ran away from home, only to be found dead the next day before sunrise. Those kids had fallen victim to the evils of the night, which ran through the streets unchecked, unchallenged, killing anyone they saw. I began to wonder if I too would fall victim to the evils of the night.

But I left the dark road that so many runaways have and went down the road rarely traveled, the road of light. And as the sun came up, I knew I had made the right choice, unlike so many other children before me. But my story isn’t over yet, as I knew not what my future held.

Prompt #28. A story that ends at sunrise.

