Hope Taught Me Everything I Know

I was so sure that I was going to die.

I really wished I had asked mom to drive me to school, but I knew I’d never hear the end of it if the other kids found out that I was still getting rides to school from my parents. I know they’d say, “You’re too old to get rides from mommy and daddy. Grow up.” Yet, I wonder how much they really respect their parents if they spoke like that; if I acted like them, I wouldn’t live to see tomorrow.

Which is what almost happened.

The bus driver was trying to drive and some dumbass in a red Pontiac was weaving through the highway traffic so fast that other cars were swerving just to get away from them. Yet when the car in question swerved past the bus, it was too much and the bus tipped over and crashed.

Yet when the car in question swerved past the bus, it was too much and the bus tipped over and crashed. I saw my life flashing in front of me: the times that I had chosen to stay at home instead of going outside to play with the other children. The birthday parties I never had. The other children who laughed at me because I preferred my own company. And now I was going to die alone and friendless.

Not today.

I forced myself out of my seat and found a way off the bus. As I helped many other people get to safety, I wondered about the driver of the Pontiac that crashed into the bus. Were they lonely and friendless as well? Was there no one to take care of them? Well, I would unfortunately never know the answer.

prompt #45: A story about a near-death experience.

