Second Look (StoryADay)

Takes place after Marie discovers Nicholas and Leo planned to hit back at her for attempting to hire a concubine.

(Marie’s POV)

I cannot believe that my son and that Leo Trichenberg have managed to undermine my plans to help provide him with a healthy heir. Not only that, but Alexandra found out what I had planned to do and she sternly lectured me on the duties of a husband to his wife and why no man should stray from the marriage bed, not to get a son. I believed she threw in the Biblical story about Abraham, Sarah, and Hagar to illustrate her point.

It’s not like I was asking my son to commit adultery; I just wanted to hire a concubine for him. Kings used to do that in the old days, so what was the problem with that?

Except that the woman I selected for him grew angry and ran away; she screamed something about morals and what the czar should or shouldn’t do. Plus, with Nicholas and Alexandra being more exposed in public, a concubine would be nothing but trouble.

Of course, I had to hear the last line from Leo himself; I should have remembered that his late wife Slavena had four children, and Leo didn’t hire a concubine to build his family either. And I know his other women would’ve have given me some serious hell if I tried to hire a concubine for him.

As for the woman in question (I think her name was Lana), I saw her talking to Lady Emaria in the gardens. I know they’re plotting to provide me with some form of punishment, as Emaria is at an age with Nicholas and she would not accept any form of wickedness, not even from his own mother.

