Turning Point (StoryADay)

What was the point where my life changed? What happened to me to make me the way I am? I wasn’t the only person in the world to read D.B. Painter’s “The Trees of Light” trilogy, but something happened to me to make me hold on to the imaginary world I created instead of putting the book away and growing up.

As you may have noticed, Rodney and Sylvia McKenner are NOT my parents. (In fact, I don’t know who my parents are.) All I knew was I was living with them since I was 8 years old. Of course, Bruce, Kelvin, and Lydia McKenner have gone out of their way to make me feel unwelcome, as if I was the unwanted child. That doesn’t surprise me, since that was how I was treated when I lived with the Tannenbay family.

To start, Mr. and Mrs. Tannenbay were middle class and their children went to private schools. Since I was a foster kid, I could only go to public schools. Also, the schools I went to were second and third-rate schools, full of kids who couldn’t function in a decent class setting. I would often retreat to a dark corner of the library to escape from the chaos surrounding me.

But the part that led me to where I am now isn’t pretty.

As you can see, there was a kid who made everyone’s lives a living nightmare. He was cruel beyond all reasoning, punching kids who dared to better themselves. All I know was one day, he caught me trying to go into the library during recess, and let’s say that what happened next was unfit for publication. He had grown angry with me because I had ignored him or refused to interact with him.

Of course, after THAT incident, all I had was my imaginary world, which I created while I was reading “The Silver Tomb“. Most of the other kids shunned me for not talking to them and even the teachers couldn’t get me to yield. Social services was contacted and I was eventually taken out of that terrible school and away from the Tannenbays. (You can guess where I ended up.)

After I went to the McKenners, I withdrew into my imaginary world, reading “The Trees of Light” as a way to deal with the pain I had gotten from the bully. I also pushed away the other kids, fearing that they would be like the bully. No one could talk to me, not even if my life depended on it.

So that’s how I grew addicted to reading “The Trees of Light” and rejecting the other books out there. Plus, I rejected the people who would have become my friends if I put down the book and spoke to an actual person, but that’s a given.

One thought on “Turning Point (StoryADay)

Comments are closed.