Daily Archives: May 18, 2017

What if Juniper Explained Everything (StoryaDay Post)

What if I told you that I did have another choice when I was so seeped in my own fantasy world?

they say that kids grow up differently, but let’s not forget that kids who survived traumatizing events don’t grow up as well as their non-abused peers. I don’t know what that means yet, but I knew that i was completely different from the other kids, and this is why.

But that didn’t mean I had to stay that way.

After English class, I walked towards the front office instead of the library, as I wanted to avoid the librarian and her criticism. She was angry with me for choosing the read the Trees of Light as opposed to some silly teen novel, but what did she know? She didn’t have an abusive childhood like I did. She didn’t have people trying to “help” her with her “problems”. I mean, the people trying to “help” me really don’t like me at all, or they would have done something about it.

Just as I passed the library, the librarian said, “Juniper, we need to have a talk.” I tensed, knowing that like it or not, my unmentionable secret of being beaten up by the school bully was about to come out…