The Kiss That Shocked Me

Esto es un género en Barnes & Noble...
Esto es un género en Barnes & Noble… (Photo credit: Leo Amato)

Adam didn’t respond, but he reached out and took my face into his hands. He was really going to kiss me this time; I couldn’t do anything to stop him.

He said, “I’m going to kiss you now, Nadia Coffey, and this time, don’t you dare try to stop me.”

“Why should I stop you?” I cried out.

Adam didn’t respond to my question, but he began kissing me. Or here’s how it went: right cheek, neck, one hand in my hair, left cheek, then lips.

OK, I will admit that I was a bit nervous when his lips touched mine, as I had never really kissed any boys before now. LaDonna had impressed upon me that I should only give a boy a short kiss.

This was when I had turned 14 years old and discovered boys.

Anyway, the kiss was brief, but enough to leave me reeling.

Chapter 17 of Life, Sin, & Blood

—–

Nadia: I gasped with a bit of shock, wondering what had just happened. Did Adam just kiss me? I wasn’t sure of what was going on here, nor did I understand why this was happening. When I first met Adam Norwood, he had called me plastic, fake, and trendy. So why the sudden change in opinion about me? Why did he kiss me? I didn’t know what was going on here or why this was happening.

I stared at him for a long time, but he then broke the silence by saying, “I must go now.” He then took off before I could do or say anything else.

*****

Adam: I found myself fleeing from Nadia’s room. Orlando and Toby stared at me and began asking questions. Joanna stared at me and shook her head. I couldn’t say anything to them at all, not as far as Nadia Coffey was concerned.

I don’t know why I kissed Nadia. I don’t know what happened there. When last I checked, Nadia was nothing more than a plastic and fake girl, intending to infiltrate the school with her popular girl ways. I had to put a stop to her behavior before something happened.

But I couldn’t get the look on her face when I kissed her out of my mind. How did this happen? Why did this happen? I never kissed a girl before, so this is a first for me.

And yet, I wonder how this could end. Would Nadia and I be together, or would I break her heart? The thing about romance is, you don’t know how it’s going to end.

Why do things like this have to be so complicated?