The Impossibly True Story About How I Escaped from Certain Death in a Bus Accident (StoryADay Post)

Final Destination
Final Destination (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You are all about to hear the story about how I escaped from certain death when my bus crashed on the highway. Don’t ignore my story or dismiss it as a lie: I swear that this story is the truth.

The story begins like this:

I was sitting in the back of the bus, just minding my own business when the bus hit a semi truck. The semi truck was carrying some huge heavy pipes.

I know you’re all thinking “Final Destination“, but don’t let your imagination run away form you. At least not yet.

Anyway, one of the huge pipes fell off the truck and split the bus into two pieces. The pipe crushed several people to death, and sent the back of the bus careening towards a huge creek that was on the side of the highway.

Many of my classmates screamed in horror as the bus plunged towards the creek, but I didn’t care about the fact that I was in danger. The other kids did the more sensible thing and jumped off the bus and ran towards a safe area.

But why didn’t I jump off the bus like everyone else? Why didn’t I at least give a tinker’s hoot about my own safety? Did I have some sort of death wish or something like that?

Before I could answer that question, the bus fell into the creek.

I could not hear anything, not the splash of the water or the screams of my surviving classmates. I was completely in a world of my own.

Yet, it wasn’t enough for the powers that be, as they apparently dispatched several people who happened to be near the creek and they came to rescue me from almost certain death.

I woke up at a local hospital, with everyone talking about “how I was lucky to be alive“, but I was disappointed to have survived the crash at all.

The truth was, though, I had blacked out during the crash and nearly drowned in the creek. I had half expected to die, knowing they no one would bother to help a disabled boy who kept to himself and viewed other people as evil.

But someone came along and pulled me out of the creek before I died.

So, to make a long story short, I was in a bus accident and nearly drowned in a creek. That’s all.