When Can I Be Seen? (StoryADay Post)

I’m sitting in the back of the classroom, trying not to be seen by anyone. I don’t know why, but I feel invisible. Like I’m not even real.

Why can’t I be real? What is preventing me from being out there in the real world? When will someone notice me?

The class is talking about the homework assignment, yet I don’t raise my hand. I don’t have anything to say. It’s sad, really.

But when the class ends and I head out the door, I could sense a group of students gathering together and staring at me. They say things like, “Look, it’s that weird girl” and “She acts like she’s too good for this place.”

I don’t know why they insult me; it’s not my fault that I’m smart and get good grades. They don’t see that; they see a girl who refuses to talk to anyone, let alone the teacher. And they make fun of me for it.

At least, until someone from the group bumps into me from behind. “I turned around and snapped, “Walk much, dummy?” The person stared at me for a second before I walked away.

So I was seen. Someone saw me. But exactly how it happened wasn’t how I wanted it to be. I guess I’ll deal with that eventually.